26 Days ’til Halloween, 2014: Maya (1989)

image

So last year I went on an 80s Italo-horror binge that knew no bounds beyond availability. It was triggered, thankfully, by a fortuitous late night viewing of a wonderfully, achingly, benignly twisted little movie called HOUSE OF LOST SOULS. Unfortunately that movie was not available on Youtube to share for the entire month of October. It became available again shortly after Halloween passed and this year I was going to do a big glorious write up on it…until it disappeared from Youtube about a week and a half ago. That’s how Youtube works and, frankly, I like it that way. Avoid anything you can have anywhere or anytime…except for yourself, of course (although I suppose I could get philosophical and make a claim for our “selves” being about as easy to get a hold of and share as HOUSE OF LOST SOULS…)

There were several other 80s Italo-horrors last year that I couldn’t add to this blog because they had disappeared from Youtube world. One of them, MAYA, is back online and rearing to go.

With MAYA we’ve got supernatural super-gory slasher fun…all couched in an appealingly filmed tropical location (I hate the tropics and especially don’t like them in my horror…I even have problems with Lucio Fulci’s ZOMBIE and Tourneur’s I WALKED WITH A ZOMBIE because of the location. MAYA doesn’t bother me though…it looks good) with seedy, mostly unlikable characters (I REALLY hope that was intended…because if they were going for “likable cad”with some of these folks than it calls into question everything else I respect about the movie,) and completely fabricated Mayan legends (which are probably incredibly offensive to you if you have any Mayan heritage…sorry about that).

Oh….and, yes, it’s got lots of crazy jump cuts to weird out-of-the-blue images, a completely irrational and convoluted plot, kooky music, women with amazing 80s haircuts and…hmmm…well it’s an 80s Italo-horror film basically. It’s one of the best of them…

This entry was posted in 1980s horror, Italohorror and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

