11 Days Until Halloween, 2012: BUTCHER, BAKER, NIGHTMARE MAKER

Image

11 days til Halloween, and I’m posting a horror movie a day to tide us over. Today it’s BUTCHER, BAKER, NIGHTMARE MAKER, otherwise known as NIGHT WARNING. Neither title has anything to do with the movie, of course (in keeping with good slasher tradition), but the “BUTCHER, BAKER…” title is fantastic. I love this movie. I’m shocked it ever got made. It’s a perfect example of “subversive horror”, though that’s as useless an academic term as one could possibly come up with. In other words, “unlike all that OTHER horror that I’m not writing my theses about, THIS horror movie has socio-political relevance”. I’ve been waiting ten years for it to come out on DVD, so it has socio-political relevance to me…

http://www.videobash.com/video_show/night-warning-1982-337291

This entry was posted in 1980s horror and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

